Gulbenkian Orchestra with conductor Joana Carneiro

Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian ⟡ Grande Auditório

Orquestra Gulbenkian com Joana Carneiro © Márcia Lessa

The Foundation adopted the Portuguese Health Authority’s guidelines for cultural facilities to contain the spread of the Covid-19 virus. Find out more.

Inspired by Prélude, a beautiful poem by the French symbolist Stéphane Mallarmé, the composer Claude Debussy created one his most remarkable orchestral works. In this creation he evokes the mythical nature, the wishes and dreams of a faun. Likewise, Tchaikovsky was also inspired by Mozart, not only to compose Variations on a Rococo Theme, the closest he would ever get to composing a cello concert, but also his Orchestral Suite No. 4, through which he reaffirms his admiration and honours this great figure of the 18th century.

Related Programme

Next Events

I accept
By using this website you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.